885 days to go…Tough Mudder

I had the good fortune to photograph a Tough Mudder event last year.

It was a total blast.

I was overwhelmed at how inspiring the event was.

People were thrilled to be doing it.

They helped each other through it.

It was NOT a ‘your on your own’ kind of thing.

People were helping others get over walls, through trenches and there was an obvious sense of camaraderie, friendship and a ‘let’s get through this together’ feeling in the air.

I told my Prince Charming husband that I wanted to do one.

Since I’ve been losing weight and getting healthier, I’ve started thinking about this again.

Tough Mudder just came out with their list of locations for events for 2013.

So what I want to know is:

Has anyone out there done one of these events?

Is it super hard, medium, or a ‘don’t even try it, unless your an athlete’ type of event?

Did you have fun?

I just want to know what to expect and if I’m completely kidding myself that I could do it.

I think it would be a great goal to try and train a little harder for this and complete one during my 1000 day countdown.

I just don’t want to think I can do it and get in over my head…or worse, have to be removed by an ambulance.

 

 

3 comments

  1. You’ve already started. And as my boxing coach used to say “train until there is no shred of doubt in your mind that you belong in that ring”
    My first advice is prepare your legs. Build up from the ground up. Stretch your calves, your hamstrings, your quadriceps and glutes. Then work with hills and stairs. Find an area of town with steep hills or stairs. Walk them until your out of breath. Then run and walk. Then run them. Finally load up a well fitting backpack with about 15 more pounds and run walk again. Then run carrying the pack.

    1. Wow…sounds tough. Especially the backpack part. Running has always been difficult for me with asthma. But I’ll give it a go and see how I do. Might just stick with the backpack for hiking. No running involved. The running scares me.

Leave a Reply

