A Rewarding Hike

Today I had every intention of going to the Diabetes Conference at the San Diego Convention Center.

My Prince Charming husband and I got up this morning, and he began dressing for our Saturday morning hike.  I told him that the conference was all day and that I was hoping to be there by 9:00 am when it started, which he didn’t realize.  He seemed genuinely disappointed. He thought we were going on our hike and then I’d go to the conference later.

I considered this for a moment and then I thought, “Wait a minute! What am I doing?”  I’m actually thinking of giving up going hiking. Something that will help me get rid of my diabetes so I can go to the conference and learn about diabetes? Needless to say, we went hiking. I don’t want to learn about diabetes…I WANT IT GONE!  So off we went…and I’m so glad we did.

Initially we headed up I-5 toward La Jolla to Torrey Pines State Beach, but the road is temporarily closed due to some construction. We considered parking but a day pass, (and we would only be there  less than 2 hours of that) was $15.00. I think that is a bit steep so we decided to go elsewhere. Driving out of the park we quickly discussed our options and decided to go back to Balboa Park.  But just a short ways from Torrey Pines going south we remembered that there are some trails, so we decided to give them a try.

These trails are located on the UCSD campus and they are just wonderful. Quiet paths with few people, easy parking and numerous choices.  The eucalyptus trees were just lovely with the extreme blue sky behind them, and the suns rays peeking through the tops of the highest branches. The weather was comfortable and not too warm. It was so pleasant out there I couldn’t resist snapping a few shots.

A little over an hour later, sweaty and breathing heavily we headed back to the car. While stretching out I knew that I had made the right choice. I also realized that I’m making this choice more often and it’s becoming easier.

It’s a good day!

One Comment Add yours

  1. wartica says:

    Great images of nature at its finest; glad you enjoyed the hike excursion:))

Leave a Reply

