A Painful Hike…Yet Enlightening

Since my head injury in high school, migraine headaches have plagued me. After the accident I spent years in unbearable pain. Often the headaches were so bad I would pass out. I lost job after job, had test after test done and still the headaches were there. Unfortunately, not much has changed, until this hike.

I still have terrible headaches, but truth be told they are less in severity now, and on this hike I realized that I have truly come a long, long way.

Years ago, I would spend days, sometimes weeks in bed, in agony. I just didn’t know how to fight back. I was in so much pain, I was so young and I didn’t know how to deal with it. That is why today, I’m overweight and out of shape. It’s hard to exercise when your in bed or on the couch.

Yesterday, however, was different. Migraine headache in tow, I went for a hike with my Prince Charming husband. It was the most painful exercise I’ve ever endured. Fortunately the miracle of the day is that I did endure it. I didn’t go to bed. Didn’t give in. (Even though I really wanted to) Oh don’t misunderstand, on this hike I rested and stopped, A LOT! We took more breaks than steps, I think, but I did it. I went, I walked, I hiked and we made it further this time then the last time. When the headache got really bad I stopped to sit on a rock or fallen tree to keep myself from falling. My husband would aid me along the way when my vision got too bad or I was wobbling too much. When the shooting pain through my head subsided a bit, I pressed on.

I pressed on. Wow! A truly amazing day!

Here are some images I took. I hope you enjoy them.

More trail...keep walking

Gorgeous view

Snow on the trail

Sun hitting the snow

Stay on the trail

Sunshine hitting the trail

Rocky trail

Gorgeous tree

Trail

Tree root on the trail

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lynn Baker says:

    Very Lovely photos Vicki! Stay strong!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

