Fun Hike…but looooong!

Yesterday’s hike was so amazing, we made it all the way up to what they call ‘The Saddle’.
It’s where the trail head of each trail meets at the top and you can choose numerous other trails to go onto from there.
It took us over 3 hours to reach the top! Whew! My legs were shaking so badly, I was fatigued and could barely lift my feet up to heave them over obstacles like rocks or logs on the trail. But to be honest, it was completely worth it. The views, the peaceful silence, but also the satisfaction of doing it made it all worth it.

I had tons of fun playing with my new lenses. Unfortunately, I was playing so much, I ran out of battery, so there aren’t nearly as many images here as I had planned on or wanted to take. I’ll have to take them for you next time.

The most fun I had was using the Macro lens and taking pictures of the bark. I think those images on this hike are my favorites.

Once we reached our car, I realized that I finally understood marathon runners. I’ve heard runners say that finishing is important and that the next time they did the race they would work to improve their time. I felt the same way. I was overwhelmed and truly proud of myself that I made it all the way to ‘The Saddle’. I also told myself that next time, I would work harder to get up to the top faster and in less time.

Can’t wait for next time!

View Of The Rock

Curling BarkI love the way the bark looks like it curls around the tree.

Sunlit Trees

Gorgeous Rocks

Suicide RockSuicide Rock

Devils Slide Trail

Devils Slide Trail View

View from Devils Slide

Bark 24I LOVED the bark! Gorgeous!

Bark 23

Bark 22

Bark 21

Bark 20

Bark 19

Bark 18

Rocks

Bark 17

Bark 16

Bark 15

Bark 14

The SaddleThe Saddle

Bark 13

Bark 12

Bark 11

Rocks On Trail

Bark 10

Beautiful RocksThis rock formation was so colorful and they way it was stacked up it looked like a bowl of ice cream to me.

Bark 9

Bark 8

Bark 7

Bark 6

Bark 5

Bark 4

Bark 3

Bark 2

Bark 1

The Dragon

Doesn’t this tree root kind of resemble a dragon?

Can you see it?

 

My Prince

My Prince Charming husband at ‘The Saddle’.

Leave a Reply

