Griffith Observatory

GRIFFITH OBSERVATORY

I drove up Hillhurst and N. Vermont Avenues heading toward Griffith Park.  Having a few hours to kill before meeting friends for dinner, my internet research told me that this park had an excellent view of the iconic and historic Hollywood sign. I plugged the address into my GPS and before I knew it, I was driving past magnificent and majestic homes that cost more than I will ever make in my lifetime. The streets were lined with stately trees, their trunks the diameter of a small car and roots popping up the sidewalks. There were perfectly manicured lawns with large, beautifully made, decorative fences that all screamed, “go away!”

Reaching the entrance of the park, I thought I’d drive through it to see as much as I could. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to walk the trails, even though I would have loved to. After a few minutes I was surprised as I came across a sign that said ‘Griffith Observatory’ with an arrow.  I turned my car in that direction. I don’t know why I didn’t put it together. Griffith Park and Griffith Observatory. Of course, I had heard about the Observatory, but I’d never been here. Excited now to see two of Los Angeles’ must-see attractions, I drove up to the top.  After parking my car I got out and headed over to the side to inspect the view. There it was, the Hollywood sign, lit up in the sunshine, displaying it’s large white letters proudly for all to see. Being the traditional tourist that I am, I proceeded to get my camera out and capture the view numerous times and from several angles. Pleased with my image souvenir, I headed toward the observatory.

Reading the sign, I realized that it was closed for the day. Disappointed, I decided to make the best of it and enjoy the view and the serene, relaxing feeling in the air.  Others felt it too.  There were hikers just finishing the trails, sprawled out, catching their breath on the green lawn.  Couples snuggling up in corners to kiss, with the Los Angeles skyline providing a stunning backdrop to their camera phone selfies. Parents lifted their children up to see the pretty buildings in the distance.

I came across a sculpture statue of James dean, the actor. Part of the movie ‘Rebel Without A Cause’, which I saw, was filmed here at the Griffith Observatory, but I didn’t remember that until the statue reminded me. Did James Dean walk where I did? Did he too enjoy the view of the Hollywood sign from up here? I paused on the walkway to take in the view. Did the famous actor stop right here where I’m standing and have a cigarette? Although his view would have been much less populated and surely with less smog, did he appreciate the fact that Los Angeles looked so nice, pretty and almost kind from here? No wonder it’s a popular spot to come to. Still in the city but away from it all with nature and history all around.

The breeze kissed my face and made my hair dance. I looked out at the layer of smog below. It looked like a ribbon about to tie up the city into a dirty colored bow. Occasionally you could hear the screech of a car slamming on its brakes or an ambulance siren in the far distance. The only tell tale signs of the metropolis below.

As the sun began to sink in the sky, photographers began to appear and lined up along the edge of the terrace. Where I would normally have felt at home I suddenly felt out of place. I had not brought my ‘real’ camera. Armed with only my camera phone and a couple of small after market lenses I captured what I could of the view.

I looked out at the view and day dreamed a little. James Dean filming up here. The Hollywood sign and film history.  What would it have been like to be Natalie Wood, filming with James Dean? Getting to kiss him. What did it look like up here at night? I was dreaming, because that’s what you do in L.A.  You dream.

Sign of Hollywood

Dean Sculpture

Trails of Griffith Park

Observatory Entrance

James Dean Figure

Through the Arch

Welcome To Griffith Park

Another View of Sign

Tower Stairs

Dean Sign

Spyglass

Sign Through Arch

Iconic Sign

Skyline

Hollywood Sign With Tree

LA

Downtown From The Terrace

Stairway to Tower

Griffith Observatory

LA with Trails

Downtown LA Sign

James Dean Sculpture

Downtown

 

Leave a Reply

