Life Changing Decision

Believe

Recently my life changed, drastically.

One day I had a long commute to an average part-time job with no benefits. It was a job I enjoyed, but with no challenge and no future. The next day I didn’t. What happened? I had been at this job for almost two years (one of the longest jobs I’ve ever had) and then one day my hours get cut and my shifts get changed, with no warning. I was being pushed out,  obviously.

So the crying, talking, discussing, planning and complaining began. Honestly, the complaining had started much earlier. I complained about the commute, a lot. I complained to my friends, my family, anyone who would listen. My poor husband got the brunt end of it. I even complained on this blog, which was one of the biggest reasons I stopped writing it. Who wants to read that?!! Ultimately, my husband and I juggled the scenarios and possibilities and finally made a decision.

Anyone who has ever met me knows that I am a movie lover, as is my husband. We are unable to carry on any conversation without quoting at least three movie lines. There is one particular movie with a message that has moved us both since the first time we saw it.  The movie is ‘You Can’t Take It With You.’ How does this apply to a life changing decision, just hang on and let me explain.

In this movie the hero, played by Jimmy Stewart, wants to win over the girl, played by the beautiful Jean Arthur.  Both main characters come from two different worlds, very Romeo and Juliet in fact. He come from a family of immense wealth and power and his parents think the girl is just looking for a rich husband. The voice of reason in all of this is her Grandfather, played by Lionel Barrymore in a most endearing performance. When the worlds of the two young lovers collide we’re reminded of what’s important in life as well as the fact that money doesn’t buy happiness. In an early scene, the one that has stuck with me over the years, the Grandfather sees a hard-working man toiling at what would be equivalent to today’s cubicle job. He asks the man if he enjoys what he’s doing. The man of course says “no”. He would be much happier doing his hobby. He is a toy inventor of sorts. After seeing an example, the grandfather invites the man to come and live at his house and be ‘a Lily’.  To be taken care of by the same force that takes care of the birds and animals and the lilies of the field. Doing what you love, knowing that GOD will take care of things.

Obviously, you can’t live your life based on a movie. Of course, living my life the way society tells me to all these years isn’t working either. However, I can stop doing things that make me unhappy and attempt to do what I love in life, and let go.

Monumental decision time! I quit my job, and so did my husband. No more commute. No more bosses. No one yelling at me for doing things wrong and dictating my life for me.

What am I going to do? What I’ve wanted to do my entire life. Art! I’ve already signed up for numerous art shows and I will sell my photography. Art shows, farmers markets or a table on the street corner, it makes no difference to me. Eventually we’d like to get an RV and travel from show to show. Photographing places along the way and sharing the images with others, with you. Also on our travels, I will write this blog, showcasing shows and images, as well as talking about our travels. We’ll also talk about the ups, downs, highs, lows and wonderful experiences of two people who have decided that life is too short to do something you hate and be miserable. Two people willing to sacrifice whatever is necessary to live a free life filled with travels, seeing the world and experiencing all it has to offer.

How many times have we all said that to ourselves, ‘Life’s too short!’ We just decided to stop saying it and do something about it. Not to mention, I will finally turn this blog into the ‘travel blog’ I always wanted it to be. Many people will think I’m crazy, and they may be right. I think we’re just finally ‘getting it’. No, I won’t have steady income and a paycheck. No benefits, (neither of our jobs offered them anyway). No security other than knowing that I believe in myself and what I want to do in life. I want to promote art that entices people to see the beautiful and fantastic world around us. I want to write about taking risks and doing what it takes to be happy.

So, if you’re in the area, stop by my art booth, pick up a piece of art and help me out. Share my website or blog page with others and hopefully GOD will do the rest.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. LynnBaker says:

    Vicki, I applaud your courage to do this thing that we all dream of doing and are afraid to> Go for it!

  2. mom says:

    I know that u and john will make it in whatever u attempt to do. still looking for an rv for u. haven’t found one yet. good luck to the both of you, love u

Leave a Reply

